Spring Camouflage

I finally had enough of the dark, black colours 🙂 Although the weather here still seems to be quite cold (we only had a couple of days of spring so far) I now decided not care anymore and just go ahead with some lighter shades.

Camouflage nails were always something that I found pretty in some non-traditional shades but I have never been brave enough to try it out. Until now 🙂 I have to say that they seems to be easier than they look, but still fairly doable.

Also, I’ve just been told that my clothes seems to camouflaging into the office recently as I started to dig out my summer clothes 😀 The office has some light coloured furniture and most of my summer trousers are happens to be the same colour too so that just gave me that extra push towards trying out some camouflage designs finally 🙂

 

  1. So the first step (as always) is prepping the nails and once that is done, apply a very thin layer of base coat, then cure it.
  2. Then apply the first layer of each colour you will use. I have used mint green on most of my nails, but gone for a dark red on the middle finger. (I also used mint green on the ring finger)
  3. Once the first layer is cured, apply a second layer of each shade and cure it under your lamp. (if you’re not happy with the coverage yet, you may want to apply a 3rd layer too.

    Also, when applying gels, make sure that you are using extremely thin layers, otherwise your gel may shrink or wrinkle, like it just happened to me so I had to start it over on my index finger… 🙂
  4. If you’re not entirely happy with the coverage on your ring finger yet, don’t worry as the design will cover most of it. Then get the 2 additional shades you’d like to use for the camouflage design and start applying random lines with either a dotting tool or with a striper (I prefer to use a dotting tool)
    Also try to flash cure them after 1-2 lines to make sure that your gel will not spread too much and once you’ve applied all the lines, cure the whole nail completely.
  5. Repeat step 4
  6. Add a thin layer of top coat to all nails, then cure it under your UV/LED lamp.
  7. Depending on the type of top coat you’ve used, cleanse it if needed to remove the sticky residue at the end.
    img_0826

Leave a comment